top of page
  • catherineguy16

Who is my audience?

Every day we get closer to graduation I am both relieved and tense. Relieved in that I will be done with getting my undergraduate degree and that this chapter in my life will be coming to an end. Tense in that I will be moving across the country and beginning a career that is very impactful to a vulnerable group of people. I am very excited to be working with children while I transition to being a teacher, but I do struggle with the occasional feeling of being an imposter or that I might not be good enough for this role.


However, in my communications class, we have been discussing how social media for businesses, organizations, etc. reach their specific audience to get their message across. I have realized that this can be applied to multiple practices besides posting content online. I can use reaching an audience even in a classroom. The students are my audience! So, I began to consider ways to get the kids involved in the lesson.


Some of the things I have accounted for is starting the class with an engaging warmup, quiz, or game which will be a fun activity that will get them to interact with the material. I could provide lots of encouragement and enthusiasm, and even allow common partner work which would give the students time to brainstorm ideas together and be an active participant in the class.


I recognized that these types of lesson implementations are important to incorporate because it allows students to gain or benefit in a way. They will feel accomplished that they achieved a topic and will be more willing to learn. I think this is necessary because in my communications class we covered that an audience is more likely to engage when they feel as if they are getting something out of it. Hopefully, the students will get the sense that they are gaining success.




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Last Blog Post

Although the class focused on social media, it was still important to keep up with blogging. For me, I took the blogging assignments as...

SPARC Presentation

Today at the SPARC Festival, I attended one of the Honors Presentations for the study of communications. The Presenter was Victoria...

Comentarios


bottom of page