top of page
  • catherineguy16

Personal Branding

With the internet and social media being more heavily relied on in our society, the need for a positive impression online is becoming more critical- especially for the those using these platforms for professional purposes. With people posting more online, it is more likely to post content that may provide consequences and get us in trouble.


I fully believe in the notion of being completely yourself and authentic on social media accounts, however, the content one posts on their personal accounts should be separate from their professional account. The point of having a professional account is to be perceived as an accomplished, skillful, and competent adult so posting about recently attended parties may achieve the opposite. A person can have a professional account that is both authentic to themselves and appropriate.


I had never considered the possibility of having to uphold a branding for both my offline and online self but after multiple weeks in my communications class I recognize it is more important than I had considered in the past. I personally think my offline self is my most valued possession but am beginning to acknowledge the impact an online reputation is. The benefit to having an online professional account is that many employers, businesses, etc. are also online and are able to see your content and connect with you which could lead to future jobs or promotions and even networking. Having an online space allows an individual to interact with more people than they ever could in person, which is why having an online reputation is transforming into something critical for professionals to obtain.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Last Blog Post

Although the class focused on social media, it was still important to keep up with blogging. For me, I took the blogging assignments as...

SPARC Presentation

Today at the SPARC Festival, I attended one of the Honors Presentations for the study of communications. The Presenter was Victoria...

Comments


bottom of page