top of page
  • catherineguy16

Is Social Media a Form of Storytelling?

Updated: Feb 3, 2022

What comes to mind when you think about posting content regarding social/political movements on your social media platforms? To me, I think of intense Facebook debates with extended family members. On February 1st, Ms. Christina Riley spoke on the issue of activism on social media in my communications class, and as a group, we discussed the pros and cons of digital action. It was very easy for me to list the negatives, such as the fear and shame of not posting, the heated arguments online that lead nowhere, and the hierarchy system that makes some voices be heard over others, rather than the positives. However, by the end of the hour, I could recognize that digital activism allows people to connect easier and faster which is beneficial in its own way.


Although listing out the pros and cons of social media may sound simple, it can be rather difficult for me to complete. This quick warm-up exercise that started class was able to make me question my own rigid notions on digital activism that I determined a while ago. To some, social media is a great way to speak their truths and tell their stories and, even though I may not understand or agree, I should not ignore or belittle their experiences.


In my last blog, I declared the many interests that make me tick. The first thing I listed was my love for books. Reading has always been an outlet for me ever since I was a kid, and I can say with full certainty that it will always be something I love. I enjoy jumping into a story to get a sense of a different world and varying perceptions, which allows me to encounter scenarios that I most likely would not face in my own life. This lesson really resonated with me because I was able to comprehend that people posting their accounts on a movement on social media is each individual's narrative. Each post is a story of someone's life and to not give it any thought would be denying myself a moment to understand another perspective.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Last Blog Post

Although the class focused on social media, it was still important to keep up with blogging. For me, I took the blogging assignments as...

SPARC Presentation

Today at the SPARC Festival, I attended one of the Honors Presentations for the study of communications. The Presenter was Victoria...

Comments


bottom of page