top of page
  • catherineguy16

Almost there!

I am officially halfway through my last semester of college, which is exciting, but also scary to acknowledge. For this week's blog, I will be reviewing the concepts my communications class has discussed for the first part of the semester.


The concept in my communications class that I found compelling was the notion of impression management. I found this topic really interesting because through the class discussion I recognized that my motivations behind my posts on social media were determined by one of the three influences for impression management. My actions on my social media accounts stemmed from the desire for social acceptance. It was really cool to learn the drive for my actions, and also learn that most people posting content are driven by similar wants. It was reassuring to discover this idea of impression management and provided me a clearer idea of how much we all put up a front on social media.


I found the topic of affordance to be the least captivating to me. I found myself not curious to know more about the concept. Affordance is defined as action possibilities provided to the actor by the environment. I personally did not find the possibility of affordance changing by different aspects such as capabilities, perception, need, or learning as engaging. It may be due to the fact that I had made assumptions earlier on, but I already believed that the environment an individual is in will determine its behaviors.


I believe that I will be able to apply the concept of reputation management in my future. I know now how to create an online account that could help my professional development and possibly help me further my credibility in the career I want to pursue,


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Last Blog Post

Although the class focused on social media, it was still important to keep up with blogging. For me, I took the blogging assignments as...

SPARC Presentation

Today at the SPARC Festival, I attended one of the Honors Presentations for the study of communications. The Presenter was Victoria...

Comentários


bottom of page